LONG WEEKENDS AND HOLIDAYS 2018

LONG WEEKENDS AND HOLIDAYS 2018

Have you always been one of those persons who only realizes it’s a public holiday the day before? Make sure you plan ahead and make the most of the long weekends and holidays laying ahead for 2018.

Long weekends and public holidays

Here’s an indication of how to make the most of your leave days around public holidays.

HUMAN RIGHTS DAY: Wednesday 21 March

Days to take leave

Monday 19 March and Tuesday 20 March

Thursday 22 March and Friday 23 March

Two days leave = Five days off

EASTER WEEKEND: Friday 30 March – Monday 2 April

Days to take leave

Friday 30 March – Monday 2 April

Zero days leave = Four days off

Tuesday 3 April – Friday 6 April (School holiday)

Four days leave = Ten days off

FREEDOM DAY AND WORKERS DAY: Friday 27 April and Tuesday 1 May

(Monday 30 April is a school holiday)

Days to take leave

Monday 30 April

One day leave = Five days off

YOUTH DAY: Saturday 16 June

This public holiday falls on a Saturday in 2018

WOMEN’S DAY: Thursday 9 August

(Friday 10 August is a school holiday)

Days to take leave

Friday 10 August

One day leave = Four days off

HERITAGE DAY: Monday 24 September

Zero days leave = Three days off

DAY OF RECONCILIATION: Sunday 16 December

As this day falls on a Sunday, the Monday 17 December is a public holiday

Zero days leave = Three days off

You can also make this the start of your summer holiday. Start your leave from Friday 14 December.

CHRISTMAS DAY AND DAY OF GOODWILL: Tuesday 25 December and Wednesday 26 December

Days to take leave

Monday 24 December

One day leave = Five days off

Thursday 27 December, Friday 28 December and Monday 31 December

Four days leave = Eleven days off

18 December – 31 December

Eight days leave = Eighteen days off

SCHOOL HOLIDAYS

29 March – 9 April

23 June – 16 July

29 September – 8 October

13 December – 8 January

Start planning now! Find your perfect dates and click here to book the cheapest flights to any destination of your choice. Follow this link to find and book the best available accommodation across South Africa

SOURCES

  • http://www.traveller24.com/TravelPlanning/2018-in-public-holidays-do-your-leave-planning-like-a-pro-20170923
  • https://publicholidays.net.za/school-holidays/2018-dates/